two people at a rear-end accident

What You Must Provide After a Florida Car Accident

A driver’s exchange often occurs after a crash when both parties make the decision to exchange information without calling law enforcement. You must know what the law says about these situations and how to proceed if you go this route. Our team is here to provide you with the information you need moving forward!

Call Law Enforcement If There’s an Injury or $500+ in Property Damage

Under Florida law, you have a legal requirement to report any crash in which someone claims they suffer an injury or there’s more than $500 in property damage. Failure to do so can create significant trouble for the parties involved. So, a driver’s exchange should only be done if nobody suffers an injury and property damage is minimal.

Name, Address, Vehicle Registration Number

In the most basic situations, you should ensure that you have at least the other driver’s name, address, and vehicle registration number. However, it’s not always going to guarantee that you can seek compensation and hold the negligent party accountable.

The more information you can gather, the better.

Take a Photo of the Other Driver’s License, Insurance Card, License Plate, and VIN Number

The most effective way to preserve information after a crash is to use your smartphone camera to take pictures of the other driver’s license, as well as their insurance card, license plate, and VIN. Having those pictures on your phone prevents you from encountering problems later down the road.

Our Lakeland car accident lawyers at Dismuke Law, PLLC help you understand your options after a crash. We will work to seek the maximum compensation you deserve moving forward. Let our team be by your side every step of the way, holding negligence accountable and safeguarding your rights.

We don’t take lightly to insurance adjusters bullying claimants, so we give you a voice to stand up for yourself.

Call our firm today at (863) 292-6922 for a free consultation.

Categories