The Limitations of the 14 Day Rule
Since Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state, those injured in accidents will typically turn to their own insurance companies first in order to get compensated for medical expenses, lost wages, and other related losses through PIP coverage.
Here’s the problem: when some people hear that you have to get medically treated to get PIP benefits, some people misunderstand it as you are barred from filing a claim at all if you didn’t get treated within the 14 days. This is not true!
Although you may not be entitled to PIP, which is a valuable benefit, you can still make other claims even if you were not treated within 14 days of the accident, including:
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist claims
- Claims against the at-fault driver
For a free legal consultation, call 863-250-5050
Questions About Your Claim or Potential Case?
If you have any questions about how the 14-day rule applies to your specific situation, please don’t hesitate to contact our office at (863) 292-6922. We know that there’s a lot of information out there that may be unclear or irrelevant to you until you personally are involved in an accident.
At Dismuke Law, our dedicated legal team is committed to ensuring that those injured in Central Florida have the tools, resources, and information they need to take the right steps moving forward.
Call or text 863-250-5050 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form